Old Stone House Museum

109 Old Stone House Rd.
Brownington, VT 05860

[ Get Directions ]


Originally the dormitory for the first secondary school in Orleans County, this monumental granite structure was completed in 1836 by our nation's first African-American college graduate, Alexander Twilight. Today it houses artifacts of the region's past. Located in the Brownington Historic District, the museum is open from May 15 through October 15, Wed. through Sun., from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. The Lawrence Barn houses a collection of antique farm equipment, and the Observatory on Prospect Hill offers a 360 degree view of the surrounding countryside. Check our website for scheduled events and education programs.

This organization is also part of a Geotourism Initiative. Vermont's Northeast Kingdom, located in northeastern Vermont, has long embraced the ideals that comprise National Geographic's geotourism programs. Geotourism, as defined by the National Geographic Center for Sustainable Destinations is "tourism that sustains or enhances the geographical character of a place. It's a destination where you can have an authentic travel experience without harming the place." Jonathan Tourtellot, director of the Society's Center for Sustainable Destinations, describes the NEK as "the real Vermont...This is rural America at its most nostalgic, enlivened by a vibrant cultural arts community and the wonderful Vermont scenery. There are scenic back roads to drive, quaint little towns to explore, wonderful hiking in the summer and great skiing in the winter." To ensure the development of a geotourism program that is true to the Kingdom, a Geotourism Alliance was established to help steward the formation of this program. Today, this Alliance is comprised of over 20 member organizations who provide input and support as the Northeast Kingdom Geotourism Program evolves.

overview   |  map view